My Avatar

av·a·tar  [avuh-tahr, av-uhtahr]
–noun

1. Hindu Mythology. the descent of a deity to the earth in an incarnate form or some manifest shape; the incarnation of a god.
2. an embodiment or personification, as of a principle, attitude, or view of life.
3. Computers. a graphical image that represents a person, as on the Internet.

When I hear this word, I feel like I’m in Dungeons and Dragons or some weird sci-fi game. I had no idea what an avatar was until probably four months ago, when press about Second Life exploded.  

So last week a directive came down from Wonder Woman in Peril (aka creative director in NY) that all the agency should be depicted as avatars on our company website. So a few of us have had hallway conversations this week, trying to figure out who the hell our alter ego would be. Doris Day? Lucy from Peanuts as a psychaitrist? Julie Andrews as Maria in the Sound of Music?

Right after lunch we got an e-mail from Wonder Woman, reminding us of the assignment. She attached the avatar of the Account Director in NY, who is an energetic brunette gal.  Here it is:

 Sumo

Yum. 

This afternoon my co-worker J.M. was in my office when our creative director walked in and said, “I’ve got one for Danny…Snoopy as the Red Baron!” It fit perfectly.

He also told me J.W. was going to pose as the Fonz.

I asked what he thought I should be. J.M. said, “Oh, wait…wait, you know…” and snapped her fingers trying to pull the name out of the air.  “That girl from the Wizard of Oz!” Our creative director said, “Dorothy? That’s perfect!”

So around 6:15 tonight I was still sitting at my desk, and I started perusing Google for images of Dorothy.  Weird and wild stuff.

Here’s my favorite:

Dorothy Once More

But I also had options of Surprised Dorothy…

Dorothy Again

…Sexy Dorothy…

Sexy Dorothy

…Mooing Dorothy…

Piggy Dorothy

…Angelic Dorothy…

Dorothy

…Bad Hair Dorothy…

Scary Dorothy

…and Dorothy after pigging out on ice cream once she was back in Kansas.

Fat Dorothy

Hopefully choosing such a fine specimen as a representation of myself won’t draw creepy men out of the woodwork.

Is Dorothy Here?

On second thought, better not tempt them.

Rosie Riveter

Leave a Reply

