Parade of the weirdos

I could feel myself getting a sore throat when I woke up yesterday morning, and by 11 p.m., it had hit full force. When my alarm went off at 6:45 this morning, I felt like I’d been hit by a semi carrying a truckload of snotty crap.

So after doing the one work task that had lingered from last night, I wrote an e-mail to the office telling them of my condition, ate two bowls of Special K in bed (so that I would stop dry heaving from snot in my stomach), set my alarm for 11 a.m. and went back to sleep. Since about 11:30 I’ve been working — taking conference calls from home and trying to think straight with a head full of snot.

Actually, I feel loads better now, thanks to two miracle drugs: Airborne and Claritin.

Taking a sick day, or a non-sick day, for that matter, is always enlightning. Weird people lurk in seemingly normal places.

For example, at about 2:00 I ordered buckwheat pancakes with strawberries/bananas and a side of bacon from the diner across the street. (I was tired of Special K.) The place was full of old men, some on oxygen, dining alone on comfort food like mashed potatoes and brown gravy. The place was really quite full for early afternoon.

Thinking back to the Brokeback Mountain incident, there were plenty of single weirdos sleeping in the theater.

But the strangest of all is riding the bus on a weekend. During rush hour on weekdays, everyone on the bus is the same — young professionals with their heads buried in the Red Eye or other reading material. But on weekends, you get smelly homeless people, talkative poorly dressed women who clearly can’t get enough companionship from their ratty cats at home, and noisy yard-ape boys.

And it makes me very glad to have a daily routine, for which I am getting paid.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Gayle said,

    Sorry you are feeling kinda ‘snotty.’ Life is tough when you live alone and know one to feel sorry for you. You can just lay there and moan and groan as loud as you want, and who is there to hear you? It’s kind of like does a tree make a noise if it falls in the forest? Who knows!!! One of the great questions of life.

    I do hope you are feeling a lot better.

    Love you lots, Gayle

  2. 2

    N said,

    Suck down three Coldeeze Lossenges when you get the hint of a sore throat. Unfortunately, your cold will be through prior to you getting your taste buds back!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

