Gripping Books

Once a year (if I’m lucky) I find a book so good that I just can’t put it down. I literally keep looking at the clock…midnight…1…2…3. I keep telling myself that I’m crazy, but I just can’t stop.

On July 4th, I was about 100 pages into The Machiavelli Covenant. I picked it back up when I got in bed at 11:30. Pretty soon it was 3:30 a.m. and I was on page 500.

And, of course, I finished the book halfway through the plane trip back to Kansas the next day, which meant I had to twiddle my thumbs for an hour. So silly.

Right now I’m 150 pages into Harry Potter #7, and if I weren’t still at the office at 9:30 p.m., this would probably be one of those all-nighters. (Fortuantely this one isn’t a slow starter.)

So if you’re looking for a good way to torture yourself, try the two books I’ve mentioned above. Or Memoirs of a Geisha, Atlas Shrugged or The Red Tent.  All have left me in need of many cups of coffee the following day. 

Leave a Reply

