Word on the street…

…is that I should be taking classes at Second City.

For those of you unfamiliar with this legendary Chicago institution, Second City is the authority for improv comedy. Tina Fey, John Candy, Bill Murray, Stephen Colbert, Chris Farley and Jim Belushi all graced the stage at one point or another. Besides having multiple shows per night on two stages, Second City has improv, writing and other classes for “normal” people.

Three people in the last week have emphatically insisted that I take a class. They say it’s changed their lives, opened their minds, blah, blah, blah. And truly, their eyes light up when they talk about it.

Tonight I was at dinner with my two partners (Debra and Ray) on this dance company marketing plan volunteer project. Debra has been involved in improv classes for quite some time, and as a result of her raving reviews, Ray decided to try it this summer. They were telling me they literally cry because the scenes get so funny. One of them involved a grown man wearing Huggies.

The third recommendation came earlier this week on a first date with a very tall guy (6’6″) who I caught lying about his age. (Or perhaps he was only improvising a little…)

I guess I should add it to my hobby list. But, my rule is one hobby class at at time. It’s currently in the number 5 position:

1. Guitar
2. Songwriting
3. Writing fiction (I can only seem to write the truth)
4. Photography
5. Improv
6. Writing a screenplay

I think I need a sugar daddy so I can just take classes and humor myself.

Leave a Reply

