What’s the benefit?

It’s 9:13 p.m., and I just walked in the door after a 3-hour planning meeting for a charity benefit/gala/schmoozefest. Fortunately there was champagne. And cheese. And more champagne. And cookies. And did I mention champagne? It was my only hope for not dying of boredom.

And it appears that I may get roped into (gasp) ad sales. I am terrible at sales. Just ask Mom and Dad — they always had to buy me out so I could make my numbers selling pizzas, suntan lotion, raffle tickets and pork. (At least Dad won the TV/VCR one year.)

I am only minorly embarassed that I didn’t recognize the “benefit guest of honor” when she introduced herself to me. She’s the morning news person on the NBC affiliate. Whoops.

All this high falutin stuff is very weird.

Leave a Reply

