Aside

A tornado touched down in Chicago last week. Mr. Farmer called me to tell me about the warning, since I thought the siren outside was one of the hundred ambulances that pass my place every five minutes. The rain and wind were pretty bad — and the tornado was supposedly four miles west of me. So I went to the basement. And ran into my neighbor Diane. And then the power went out.

I was caught off guard by the outage. I only had 3 minutes of power left on my cell phone. Fortunately I was able to dust off my landline and call Mr. Farmer.

The power was still out when I went to sleep, so I’d asked Mr. Farmer to call me at 6:45 a.m. to make sure I woke up. I’d also asked him to remind me that I had a rental car overnight, which I needed to return downtown — and I shouldn’t take the bus. He performed both tasks like clockwork.

I went back to bed for 45 minutes.

And what did I do? I took the bus. I realized (via heart attack) at noon that the car was still sitting in my parking spot.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ann said,

    Thanks for making me feel normal! The fair is over and so hopefully is the heat! Glad the tornado did not hit your place.

  2. 2

    Tony said,

    Next time you’re caught in a near-tornado, you might want to resist the temptation to pick up your landline phone. If lightning happens to hit the landline anywhere near your fixture, you could experience an inconvenience considerably greater than riding away from your car.

    You could even call it a shocking experience.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

