The Search for the “One”

Mom, Mom-To-Be and I pulled out our golashes, umbrellas and catfur jewelry to go dress shopping on Saturday.

We had to walk a block to get away from the art fair, which had comandeered my street. Mom mistook a police car for a cab, and after she hailed him, he stopped and asked if we’d seen a guy without a shirt running around bugging people. (He didn’t offer us a lift.)

Moments later we snatched a cab from under the nose of the woman standing next to us and headed for White Chicago.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

White Chicago is quite cool — very mod, very white. You have to take off your shoes and then pinky swear that you won’t sneeze.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There was one dress there that made the top five, but this one wasn’t it:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vera Wang has a penchant for making you look like you’re topless.

Next was House of Brides, where I tried the dress clips on as new age earrings. (Again, not “the one.”)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We made a last minute appointment at Saks, so that I could show them a few Melissa Sweet dresses that I really like (including one called Dora). The peanut gallery started throwing nuts rather than going nuts, so we decided to move on. I think they needed food. We stopped in the Peninsula at Pierrot Gourmet for lunch.

Then it was on to Ultimate Bride, where I really did love the dresses. Unfortunately Mr. Farmer wouldn’t love me any more if I bought one (average sticker $3,000). My very favorite was Oscar de la Renta, followed by a Lela Rose and then a Monique Lhullier. My friend Kelly met us for the final trip down the catwalk and agreed with our choices.

Today Mom and I had two more appointments. The first was at 826 Weddings, a small off-the-rack boutique on Armitage. This one wins for the dress with the longest train. Very practical for a machine shed reception and roasting s’mores.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We drove to suburbia to Priscilla of Boston, where I had high tea with a few more Melissa Sweets. This one wins for most expensive — nearly $9,000! My friend Chris met us for this round — I can always trust her for an honest, practical, sound opinion. (It was her favorite until she saw the pricetag.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Which one is it? I’ll never tell. All I’ll say is that none of these are even close, and it’s perfect for the occasion.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Heidi said,

    You make even the crazy dress look stunning!

    Sounds like you had tons of fun. 🙂

  2. 2

    Annette said,

    So, you have a winner?!?

  3. 3

    Heather said,

    Some of those dresses were awsome, others I know you were just laughing at. I can not wait to see the final pick. I bet it is perfect and totally you. Love ya hun.
    Heather

  4. 4

    Ann said,

    Ok, well I am hoping you will not have to worry about dragging it through mudd. I am sure it very pretty! It sounds like you had fun? By the way hows the dryer hook up?

  5. 5

    Karen said,

    Ok, first of all I have to say I salivate over Monique Lhullier’s work.

    Secondly, I love, love, love the last photo!!!!!!!!!! That dress is UH-MAZING!

    Thirdly, bridal salons in Chicago are MUCH cooler than here in KS. They’d freak out if we took out a camera here!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

