Writer’s Block

This is ridiculous. I’ve been sitting here for 45 minutes, and I’ve started (and erased) at least three posts. I’ve gotten so out of the habit of writing that I can’t even seem to start.

So, I’ll focus on my train ride to Mr. Farmer’s house on Friday night. I finally finished “I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You”, which was given to me last January by Ann and Andrea when they came to visit. The author was formerly in the extension agent realm in Kansas, and she’s been so successful with her Gallagher Girls series of young adult books that she’s become a full-time writer. Interestingly, the same weekend the girls were visiting me, my parents were at a conference where the author spoke. And they independently told me about her. Coincidence?

I have to say, I really enjoyed the book. Think Harry Potter meets Alias. And I even shed a tear on the train. (Keep in mind that I also cried watching Wedding Crashers.)

Not to give too much away, but the heroine falls for a boy in the local town where the “boarding school for spies” resides and has to give him an alias so she doesn’t break her cover. Her doppleganger’s birthday is the same as mine. I think it’s a sign.

It’s a fact that people in my family have suggested that I work for the CIA because I travel so much…but I’ll never tell.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ann said,

    Well, we need to get you the rest of the books!! She was a Ag Economist! Went from Farmers to Gallagher Girls!! And by the way have a cold and am addicted to the Vicks Puffs! You should try one. I think PW is who got me hooked on them.

  2. 2

    Andrea said,

    “Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy!”

  3. 3

    Kendra said,

    Those are some good books. The author was also a student at OSU. Gallagher Girls was named after Gallagher Iba Arena!! Go Pokes! Hope you have a Merry Christamas!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

