Happenings

What’s been up, you ask?

Wearing all the clothes in my closet at once to stay warm, for one. Tonight is supposed to hit -14. I’ve been sleeping in sweats, slippers AND my bathrobe.

Second, I bought myself a personal trainer. Her name is Laura, and my first session is at 6:30 tomorrow morning. Hopefully she can kick my lazy butt into shape before my first dress fitting on February 18. (Yes, I bought a dress — top secret!)

Third, I saw Revolutionary Road tonight, and it was a snoozer. My legs kept falling asleep. It was like watching a play that had been nicely filmed. We should’ve opted for The Wrestler, but we were too hungry to skip dinner and make the early movie time.

Fourth, three agents called yesterday to book showings of my condo! Hooray! That makes 9 total. Now if the offers would just flow in that fast. But in the meantime, I’m enjoying having a consistently spotless house, though the people who saw my place today saw that I’d left my hairbrush on the toilet.

Fifth, Mr. Farmer and I put in his kitchen floor on Sunday. It took 10 hours and resulted in sore legs. He laughed at me when he gave me a pair of kneepads and I proceeded to put them on upside down. He also laughed at me when I put on his cowboy boots with tucked-in sweatpants and ran around the house. (Obviously he caught me without even trying.)

Sixth, I read Malcolm Gladwell’s new book Outliers over Christmas. Go get it! It’s a quick, engaging read that will reassure you that you’re not as successful as Bill Gates simply because you weren’t born in 1955. And that you should never fly a Colombian airline unless you’re trying to kill yourself.

Seventh, I’m FINALLY getting the save-the-dates out next week. Sheesh. Took long enough — I designed them the day after we got engaged.

Eighth, we saw the band for the wedding on New Year’s Eve in a dive bar in small town Kansas. The band was fun, and the clientele was fun-ny. All 30 of them were toothless smokers with Aquanet hair.

Ninth, I’m scared of vampires. Which is why I’m having a hard time bringing myself to read Twilight. So I’m lolligagging along in James Lipton’s Inside Inside until I make a decision. (It’s a good book — just a little slow. He’s the guy that hosts Inside the Actors Studio.)

Tenth, my Tivo is fat and happy, and that’s probably why I am, too.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mandy said,

    Ok, so you know i have to leave a comment here about Twilight… since I have read the whole series… the vampires that the story centers around aren’t interested in people.. they see that as inhumane, almost… it’s animals for them! that makes it better, right? lol you’ll enjoy it, Nelly… read!

  2. 2

    Cousin Traci said,

    Hi! Okay, I thought it was cold but your -14 has us beat in KC. Of course I’m still typing this sitting on the floor next to our space heater. That’s mainly because I’m a big wimp.

    I really should read those books you mention….but between Cooper, Blake and my DVR I just don’t have time. haha

    Can’t wait to see you on your big day!!!!!

  3. 3

    Annette said,

    Hmmmmm, I would highly suggest that you NOT watch True Blood! 😛

  4. 4

    Andrea said,

    Words of advice b4 u start the “Twilight” series: Have all four books, as u will not want 2 put them down! Think romance, and then kick it up some notches. Enjoy!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

