Making a stink

Those of you who witnessed me at 5:59 am for high school volleyball pre-season practice know that it takes me a few minutes to wake up. (So I’ve been told.) Personally, I don’t think I’m that cranky, unless someone provokes me by say suddenly jumping through the doorway to a semi-squat, making googley OK symbols with their fingers around their eyes and smiling like a Cheshire Cat. (Mr. Farmer has picked this up from my mother. Sigh.)

Mr. Farmer and I have recently come to the realization that we’re crankypants at opposite times of the day, which is a good thing, I guess. He’s definitely more prone to the evening grumps.

One morning last week we were both lamenting the fact that the alarm had gone off. He lovingly said, “I like waking up to you in the morning.” I replied, “I like getting up with you too, but I prefer it when we sleep in.” He went on to tell me that he said, “wake up,” not “get up” — clarifying that “getting up with me is like being locked in a room with a skunk…you have to be careful or they’ll start to hiss and stink.”

That rates right up there with the day he introduced me to his mother. During lunch he told me that my shirt looked like a garbage bag. You’d think he’d be more careful about what he says, given that I have a good 10 pounds on him, and he’s more tickleish.

As a final word, I’ll just say this: many people in this world have pet skunks that they cherish, and skunks can be a huge form of entertainment.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Karen said,

    Your updates are SUCH a scream, Lori! You should really update your blog more often! I get such a laugh out of your daily antics!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

